Chief Patrick M. Egloff and the Westfield Fire Department would like to remind residents that open burning season begins Jan. 15 and runs through May 1. A permit is required to open burn in compliance with Massachusetts law.
Residents can begin applying for a daily or seasonal burn permit today by creating an account via the department’s new burn permit portal: Westfield.firepermits.com. The cost of the daily permit is $10 and a seasonal permit is $25, and both can be paid online through your Unipay account. A check or money order is also accepted and can be submitted to the Westfield Fire Department prior to the approval of the burn permit. Checks or money orders should be made out to the City of Westfield and mailed to the Westfield Fire Department, 34 Broad Street, Westfield, MA 01085.
Residents will receive an email notifying them when the permit is approved, following receipt of payment. On any day that a resident plans to burn, the permit must be activated by visiting their Westfield.firepermits.com account. When a burn is activated the department’s dispatch is able to quickly view any open burning location on a map, assisting in public safety and emergency management.
If conditions are unsafe for burning, such as high winds or drought, a notification will be posted on the homepage and the system will prevent an individual from activating a burn permit.
Individuals who don’t have access to a computer should call the Westfield Fire Department at (413) 562-2329 for assistance with their burn permit application.
Violations of the permit requirements, open burning law and/or open burning regulations will be grounds for permit revocation. According to Massachusetts law, anyone found burning without a permit may be subject to criminal charges, the punishment for which is a fine of up to $500, plus the cost of suppression, or both.
Burning must be done:
Residents are allowed to burn:
Residents may NOT burn:
What times are best for open burning?
winter conditions help hinder the rapid spread of fire on or under the ground.
when open burning is not allowed.
growth emerges, last year’s dead grass, leaves and wood are dangerous tinder.
Winds also tend to be strong and unpredictable in April.
For more information on open burning in Massachusetts, visit Mass.gov.